How to set CPU Priority Level of Processes in Windows 8

Windows 8, just like its predecessors has a very sophisticated system of allocating CPU time among running programs at the same time. Depending upon the priority levels, which are determined by the OS itself, the CPU time allotted varies, with ones on higher priority require more time than the ones running on lower priority. There are different priority levels set by Windows 8, such as Realtime, High, Above Normal, Normal, Below Normal, or Low. Although there is hardly the need ever to make changes to the priority levels, in case you want an app to finish the process earlier, this tutorial can come very handy for you. Here is how you set the CPU priority levels in Windows 8:

Set CPU Priotity level

1. Open up Task Manager by pressing Ctrl + Alt + Del and selecting Task Manager. Right click the App you want to change priority for and click Go to Details

Click Go to Details

3. Now again right click the app you want to change priority for, and go to Set Priority. Now select the priority level by clicking the priorities. These are Realtime, High, Above Normal, Normal and Below Normal

Right click on the app and select Set Priority

4. For confirmation, click Change priority as shown below

Click Change Priority

Twitter.png Facebook.png GooglePlus.png Pinterest.png LinkedIn.png Tumblr.png Email.png
5 of 5 0 (100%) 1 vote

- Cheers!