File Recovery: Enable “Delete Confirmation Box” in Windows 8

If you want to make sure deleted files are moved to the recycle bin with your consent, enable the “delete confirmation box” in Windows 8.

How to Enable Delete Confirmation Box in Windows 8

What is Delete Confirmation Box?

Since the time when Microsoft released its very first Graphical User Interface operating system, that is, Windows 95 Recycle Bin had played an important role in the entire scenario. Till the release of Microsoft Windows 7 whenever any object was deleted by any user the operating system used to display a deletion confirmation box in order to confirm that the deletion process that is about to take place is not by any human error.
In Windows 8 however this deletion confirmation box is by default disabled, which allows users to delete any object from the operating system without any confirmation. Deleted objects are still sent to the Recycle Bin though.
As a Windows 8 administrator if you want to enable deletion confirmation box to prevent accidental deletion of any object you are required to follow the steps given below:
1 Logon to Windows 8 computer with administrator account as the process requires elevated privileges.
2 From the available options on the screen click on Desktop icon.
Click on Desktop Icon
3 On the desktop screen right click on Recycle Bin icon and from the available context menu click on Properties option.
Click on Properties Option
4 On Recycle Bin Properties box check Display delete confirmation dialog checkbox and click on Ok button to save the changes that you have made.
Check Display delete confirmation dialog Checkbox

From now on you will be asked when you delete files whether or not you want to delete them.

Twitter.png Facebook.png GooglePlus.png Pinterest.png LinkedIn.png Tumblr.png Email.png
5 of 5 0 (100%) 1 vote

- Cheers!